Posted by
the JoeL
comments (0)
200 miles is getting closer and closer. i need 8 more miles to reach this goal. it just seemed like a few a months ago i reached 100 miles and now i'm inching closer to 200. this is unbelievable. i didn't think i would get into running so much. with nike+ technology and the lastest shoe technology makes running more enjoyable. i just need to keep the motivation up. with work being crazy busy and moving into a new place can definitely slow things down. i just need to familiarize myself with the neighborhood and just do it! i can't let laziness get the best of me. i need to continue with what i've started!
Posted by
the JoeL
comments (0)
i went back home last night to take care of a few things. i asked justin if he was down for a run. he hasn't been running since school started a week ago. i had my gear in hand was pretty much ready to go for a run. it's been a while since i ran my old up hill route in oceanview. i was also set to redeem myself from mondays treadmill disappointment. the run went well. both justin and i were exhausted after the run. not so much me but more justin since he hasn't been running for a while. he told me that his body went numb for a little. maybe because he's been sitting down long hours at school, work at home. it looks like i still got it. according to nike+, i ran a 5k in 30:43 mins with a 9:51 mile pace. there were some parts of the run i slowed down but i could've continued a decent pace. i didn't want to overwork my body. i just wanted a decent time. outside running is bomb!
Posted by
the JoeL
comments (0)
i finally got over my soreness from my leg workout last week. it took a while to recover though. today i went to LA fitness to have another go at it on the treadmill. the first half mile i felt good.... but once i warmed up, i warmed up... literally. it got really hot. it was somewhat unbearable and i felt my legs tiring after the first mile. i'm not sure if my legs were 100% recovered. but this was totally un-me. i decided to lower my expecatations and just finish with a 1.5 mile run. i was really disappointed. but a lot of factors i think really affected my run. i really hate the treadmill. it's a nice training tool but it doesn't beat running outside... nuff said.
Posted by
the JoeL
comments (0)
it's been a while since i went to the gym to work out. since i live close to a nearby la fitness i've decided to start lifting more weights focusing on key parts that will help me improving my running. yesterday, i did a lot of leg works to help build the strength in my legs. today i can totally feel it... my calves, thighs, and entire legs are pretty sore. i have yet to go on my first run outside. i need to plan out a route away from the cars... hopefully working on my legs will improve my overall performance in long distance runs.
Posted by
the JoeL
comments (0)
since i moved to mira mesa i haven't had a chance to map out a route to run. so after a long hiatus from going to the gym i decided to make a trip to LA Fitness. i haven't been to the gym in a month or so. usually i run a little slower on the treadmill but i decided to crank it up a bit more. i started with a 3.5 for a minute or so then moved it up to 5.0 for another minute and moved it up to 6.5 all with an incline of 1.5. i jumped the speed up to 7 to 8 during the final stretch of my 5k run... and guess what? i ran the fastest 5k. 28.02 minutes. it really got boring so i had to keep my eyes moving around and people watch... there was nothing on tv to watch. so i had to endure it. running outside is so much better.