Posted by
the JoeL
comments (0)
My running schedule has been inconsistent for the month of November. This time change and weather change is a bit difficult to get use to. But there is a 5k run in the end of January that I'd like to attempt.
So these past two weeks I've been running on the dreaded treadmill. Instead of the running the usual 5k on the treadmill I just run 2 to 2.5 mile each gym session. I think that distance is just right. Although it's not a lot I mix it with other exercises like bicycle or that sliding machine.
So these past two weeks I've been running on the dreaded treadmill. Instead of the running the usual 5k on the treadmill I just run 2 to 2.5 mile each gym session. I think that distance is just right. Although it's not a lot I mix it with other exercises like bicycle or that sliding machine.
Posted by
the JoeL
comments (0)
It's been about a week with this daylight savings time change and it's been affecting my running schedule. Usually I have enough time when coming from work to go out for a run. But with this new time change it's already dark. I might have to shift my outside running into treadmill running for now. As much as i dislike running the treadmill I have to run somehow. Plus its getting colder in the evenings as well. So having an LA fitness membership definitely comes in handy. so hopefully i can keep up my running.
Posted by
the JoeL
comments (0)
Yesterday the running crew ran the Light the Night 5k at Balboa Park. we went there at around 530ish to pick up our bibs and warm up. the ong sleeve shirts that we receive were alright. they were not as fancy as the America's Finest technical shirts. but nonetheless they were still cool since they glow in the dark. they closed parts of park avenue for this run. we actually were running on the street. just like the lass run i had to dodge a lot of the slower runners. the run extended to almost the hillcrest area. the race started on an incline and then on our way back it was somewhat downhill.
as i was making my way back to the finish line i noticed that a police helicopter above. the police light was on the crowds of people. that was a pretty cool experience. gettin chased by a police helicopter. in the end i finished at around 30 mins. it was a fairly tough run. we met up with erwin and arlene in the end of the race. they actually got to the venue when the race began. all in all everybody had a good time.
as i was making my way back to the finish line i noticed that a police helicopter above. the police light was on the crowds of people. that was a pretty cool experience. gettin chased by a police helicopter. in the end i finished at around 30 mins. it was a fairly tough run. we met up with erwin and arlene in the end of the race. they actually got to the venue when the race began. all in all everybody had a good time.
Posted by
the JoeL
comments (0)
the past few days were really getting hot... not a good time to run. but i did attempt to run when the sun went down a few days ago. it was still hot when i ran. i'm trying to mix my routes around the neighborhood to keep my runs fresh and new. here's one of my routes that i drew up on nike plus. i can't wait till it cools down.

Posted by
the JoeL
comments (0)
i finally hit 202 miles! it's a great feeling to acheive this goal in such a short period of time. i ran a 5k in 29 mins... im still doing quite well. my times are still consistent and don't show any signs of slowing down. i've been able to shave off a minute or two here and there. i just need to increase my distant runs.
Posted by
the JoeL
comments (0)
200 miles is getting closer and closer. i need 8 more miles to reach this goal. it just seemed like a few a months ago i reached 100 miles and now i'm inching closer to 200. this is unbelievable. i didn't think i would get into running so much. with nike+ technology and the lastest shoe technology makes running more enjoyable. i just need to keep the motivation up. with work being crazy busy and moving into a new place can definitely slow things down. i just need to familiarize myself with the neighborhood and just do it! i can't let laziness get the best of me. i need to continue with what i've started!
Posted by
the JoeL
comments (0)
i went back home last night to take care of a few things. i asked justin if he was down for a run. he hasn't been running since school started a week ago. i had my gear in hand was pretty much ready to go for a run. it's been a while since i ran my old up hill route in oceanview. i was also set to redeem myself from mondays treadmill disappointment. the run went well. both justin and i were exhausted after the run. not so much me but more justin since he hasn't been running for a while. he told me that his body went numb for a little. maybe because he's been sitting down long hours at school, work at home. it looks like i still got it. according to nike+, i ran a 5k in 30:43 mins with a 9:51 mile pace. there were some parts of the run i slowed down but i could've continued a decent pace. i didn't want to overwork my body. i just wanted a decent time. outside running is bomb!
Posted by
the JoeL
comments (0)
i finally got over my soreness from my leg workout last week. it took a while to recover though. today i went to LA fitness to have another go at it on the treadmill. the first half mile i felt good.... but once i warmed up, i warmed up... literally. it got really hot. it was somewhat unbearable and i felt my legs tiring after the first mile. i'm not sure if my legs were 100% recovered. but this was totally un-me. i decided to lower my expecatations and just finish with a 1.5 mile run. i was really disappointed. but a lot of factors i think really affected my run. i really hate the treadmill. it's a nice training tool but it doesn't beat running outside... nuff said.
Posted by
the JoeL
comments (0)
it's been a while since i went to the gym to work out. since i live close to a nearby la fitness i've decided to start lifting more weights focusing on key parts that will help me improving my running. yesterday, i did a lot of leg works to help build the strength in my legs. today i can totally feel it... my calves, thighs, and entire legs are pretty sore. i have yet to go on my first run outside. i need to plan out a route away from the cars... hopefully working on my legs will improve my overall performance in long distance runs.
Posted by
the JoeL
comments (0)
since i moved to mira mesa i haven't had a chance to map out a route to run. so after a long hiatus from going to the gym i decided to make a trip to LA Fitness. i haven't been to the gym in a month or so. usually i run a little slower on the treadmill but i decided to crank it up a bit more. i started with a 3.5 for a minute or so then moved it up to 5.0 for another minute and moved it up to 6.5 all with an incline of 1.5. i jumped the speed up to 7 to 8 during the final stretch of my 5k run... and guess what? i ran the fastest 5k. 28.02 minutes. it really got boring so i had to keep my eyes moving around and people watch... there was nothing on tv to watch. so i had to endure it. running outside is so much better.
Posted by
the JoeL
comments (0)
i finally signed up for this run. it looks like we will have a large group for this event. im the first one to sign up so everyone else can follow my lead. it seems that we will have some first timers for this run as well. its going to be a fun and quick run. also included with this run is a top quality, long-sleeved T-shirt with cool, glow-in-the-dark logo! for more information about this run or to sign up check out the website here
Posted by
the JoeL
comments (0)
Totals taken from my Nike+ account.
Elite 4 - 12.34 miles
Triax 11 - 18.18 miles
Supernova 5 Trail - 5.6 miles
Elite 4 - 12.34 miles
Triax 11 - 18.18 miles
Supernova 5 Trail - 5.6 miles
Posted by
the JoeL
comments (0)
tonight i clocked in a personal best! 5k in 27 minutes and 47 seconds with a pace of 9 minutes and 14 second per mile. this route was a bit tricky since it involves climbing a hill in the very beginning, steady climb and a slopping down hill. once i hit the asphalt i felt way faster. my strides felt longer and the breathing was perfect. there was nothing to slow me down. last night i actually went for a 10 mile bicycle ride which involved some climbs... i think pairing both activities, running and cycling has improved my overall stamina and performance.
i definitely accomplished another milestone in running! all i have to do is keep it up and possibly work towards the dreaded 10k :)
i definitely accomplished another milestone in running! all i have to do is keep it up and possibly work towards the dreaded 10k :)
Posted by
the JoeL
comments (0)
According to Runners World the best food runners are
1. Almonds
2. Eggs
3. Sweet potatoes
4. Whole-Grain Cereal with Protein
5. Oranges
6. Canned Black Beans
7. Mixed Salad Greens
8. Salmon
9. Whole-Grain Bread
10. Frozen Stir-fry Vegetables
11. Whole-grain Pasta
12. Chicken
13. Frozen Mixed Berries
14. Dark Chocolate
15. Low-fat Yogurt
For more details about these foods go here.
1. Almonds
2. Eggs
3. Sweet potatoes
4. Whole-Grain Cereal with Protein
5. Oranges
6. Canned Black Beans
7. Mixed Salad Greens
8. Salmon
9. Whole-Grain Bread
10. Frozen Stir-fry Vegetables
11. Whole-grain Pasta
12. Chicken
13. Frozen Mixed Berries
14. Dark Chocolate
15. Low-fat Yogurt
For more details about these foods go here.
Posted by
the JoeL
comments (0)
today is the day of the America's Finest 5k Run... i had my cell phone alarm set at 4:10 but i snoozed it a couple times to get in a few more minutes of rest. we (jarv, sherilyn, lawrence, harold, justin and i) all gathered at the house at around 5 so we can all head out to balboa park with the van. as we got to balboa park we encountered some traffic. the traffic was flowing okay so we didn't have any issues. we parked at the back of the reuben h fleet science center. as we walked to the venue i noticed that my ipod kept on resetting for some weird reason. i looked at the top right hard corner and it looked like the battery was drained. i must've left it on all night after my evening bicycle ride. i was bummed that i wouldn't be able to record this run... but i guess that was a sign that i should just run without music and focus on the race. so i ran back to the van and dropped off my ipod and jogged back to catch up with everybody.
all the 5k runners congregated near the hall of champions. i noticed all types of runners... young runners, old runners, hot chicks, etc etc... everybody sporting there flashy running shoes and running gear. as the start time drew closer the crowd moved behind the start / finish line. jarv, sherilyn and lawrence went to the back where the slower runners were while justin, harold, and i went to the middle... when the race started i went for a medium pace but it sped up quick. i had to dodge and weave in and out of people. i surely didn't want to get stuck behind a slow runner. as i made the right on balboa avenue i noticed that the faster runs were already making there way down. they were going some crazy fast pace. i continued my pace and my breathing pattern. i had a few bursts of sprints to pass a few people but didn't sprint for too long... i had to conserve my energy for the end.
there a few times where my throat would feel dry due to my breathing but i was able to stick with it. i decided to pass on the water stop and keep going. there was this one hill that was a tad tricky but i was able to make it without walking. at the final stretch to the finish line i switched gears and went for the all out sprint. there was this one chick saying, "Finish Strong!" which helped my motivation. the final stretch was down hill so it was easy to sprint. as i crossed the finish line i looked at the clock and it say 28:33 but im not sure if thats my time... i guess i can possibly tack on a few seconds. another cool thing was the announcer called my name out... he said something and said joel gaspar from san diego... that was pretty cool.
after the race was done i grabbed some water and some orange looking energy drink. i met up with justin and asked about his time. his time was about 28 minutes. so i was close to him in a way. we waited on the side and waited for the rest of the group. harold came in next, then jarv, sherilyn and lawrence. vivian came by and gave us all healthy energy drinks.
we then went to get our pictures taken by marathonfotos and walked towards the post race festivities. there was music, free snacks, free vitamin water drinks, and other booths. we grabbed a few snacks and decided to head out to get breakfast at the Hash House in Hill Crest. the place was busy... i didn't want to eat too much so i just got the basic... which consists of 2 eggs, 2 sausages, potatoes, watermelon, and a muffin.
overall, it was a great morning... this race was fun and the best part of it was running with friends and family. all the running and training definitely paid off. i'm really satisfied with my time and set the bar really high for myself. i can't wait till the next one!
all the 5k runners congregated near the hall of champions. i noticed all types of runners... young runners, old runners, hot chicks, etc etc... everybody sporting there flashy running shoes and running gear. as the start time drew closer the crowd moved behind the start / finish line. jarv, sherilyn and lawrence went to the back where the slower runners were while justin, harold, and i went to the middle... when the race started i went for a medium pace but it sped up quick. i had to dodge and weave in and out of people. i surely didn't want to get stuck behind a slow runner. as i made the right on balboa avenue i noticed that the faster runs were already making there way down. they were going some crazy fast pace. i continued my pace and my breathing pattern. i had a few bursts of sprints to pass a few people but didn't sprint for too long... i had to conserve my energy for the end.
there a few times where my throat would feel dry due to my breathing but i was able to stick with it. i decided to pass on the water stop and keep going. there was this one hill that was a tad tricky but i was able to make it without walking. at the final stretch to the finish line i switched gears and went for the all out sprint. there was this one chick saying, "Finish Strong!" which helped my motivation. the final stretch was down hill so it was easy to sprint. as i crossed the finish line i looked at the clock and it say 28:33 but im not sure if thats my time... i guess i can possibly tack on a few seconds. another cool thing was the announcer called my name out... he said something and said joel gaspar from san diego... that was pretty cool.
after the race was done i grabbed some water and some orange looking energy drink. i met up with justin and asked about his time. his time was about 28 minutes. so i was close to him in a way. we waited on the side and waited for the rest of the group. harold came in next, then jarv, sherilyn and lawrence. vivian came by and gave us all healthy energy drinks.
we then went to get our pictures taken by marathonfotos and walked towards the post race festivities. there was music, free snacks, free vitamin water drinks, and other booths. we grabbed a few snacks and decided to head out to get breakfast at the Hash House in Hill Crest. the place was busy... i didn't want to eat too much so i just got the basic... which consists of 2 eggs, 2 sausages, potatoes, watermelon, and a muffin.
overall, it was a great morning... this race was fun and the best part of it was running with friends and family. all the running and training definitely paid off. i'm really satisfied with my time and set the bar really high for myself. i can't wait till the next one!
Posted by
the JoeL
comments (0)
last week i was running out of socks to use for my runs and went to sports authority... originally i picked up 2 pairs of under armour speed socks but i noticed that they were womens size... haha so i returned those two socks and picked up adidas running socks. one pair is $8.00. i wanted to see if there was any difference when compared to my dri-fit socks. the dri-fit socks i currently have are really comfortable but they've started giving me blisters on my right foot. i'm not sure if its just a piece of thread thats rubbing on my foot or if its too thin. after my runs i noticed that my foot gets red. after my 5k run around the park, the adidas running socks still made my feet red but not as much. maybe I'm just hitting the ground hard...
Posted by
the JoeL
comments (0)
i noticed that my times on my 5k runs that my time has been improving. usually i've been getting 31 minutes or so but in the past few runs i've been running a tad bit faster than before. now im stuck in the high 29 mins range... which isn't bad but i feel that i need to raise the bar a little higher now. my goal is to bring that down another second. i gotta focus on my leg strength and tempo. as for right now i'm pretty much set for this sundays 5k run.
Posted by
the JoeL
comments (0)
justin, my friend angela, and i went out for another j street marina run yesterday... we arrived a bit later in the afternoon. our previous j street run was about 31 minutes for a 5k but this time we ran it in 29 minutes. we definitely cranked it to another level this time. our pace was at 9 mins 45 second per mile. which is really good. i really like how this route is flat... makes me want to run faster than normal. i think we could have ran this route faster if we didn't have to wait to cross the road... i should've paused my nike+.
right now 29 mins is the time to beat!
right now 29 mins is the time to beat!
Posted by
the JoeL
comments (0)
its now 7 days and counting. after training for the past two months i feel that i'm ready for this run. my legs feel stronger and i feel i can control my breathing. according to nike+ my average mile is about 10 mins. which in my opinion is pretty good for a new runner.
this run will set the foundation for other runs in the future. there are going to be 1,500 runners, so dealing with all the people will be a challenge. my goal for this is race is to run it straight and have a decent time of under 35 minutes. the race begins at 6:45am so being there promptly is a must!
here is my training schedule for this week.
monday - 2/3 mile run (10 1/2 to 11 min/mile pace run)
tuesday - 2/3 mile run (9 1/2 min to 10 1/2 faster tempo)
wednesday - 2/3 mile run (10 1/2 to 11 min/mile pace run)
thursday - rest
friday - rest
saturday - short bicycle ride
this run will set the foundation for other runs in the future. there are going to be 1,500 runners, so dealing with all the people will be a challenge. my goal for this is race is to run it straight and have a decent time of under 35 minutes. the race begins at 6:45am so being there promptly is a must!
here is my training schedule for this week.
monday - 2/3 mile run (10 1/2 to 11 min/mile pace run)
tuesday - 2/3 mile run (9 1/2 min to 10 1/2 faster tempo)
wednesday - 2/3 mile run (10 1/2 to 11 min/mile pace run)
thursday - rest
friday - rest
saturday - short bicycle ride
Posted by
the JoeL
comments (0)
as people we need to breath to survive. when running you need to breath more since you are exerting more energy and the oxygen is needed for your muscles. some times it can be tricky trying to find the necessary rhythm to breath. when i run faster i tend to inhale and exhale more often. with my slower runs i would breath in every three or four strides. i usually breath in through my mouth and out my mouth since the area i live has a lot of cars... but when there isn't any cars and the air is clean i breath in through my nose and out with my mouth.
i found this cool video that discusses some tips on how to breath while running. its called How to Breath When Running.
i found this cool video that discusses some tips on how to breath while running. its called How to Breath When Running.
Posted by
the JoeL
comments (0)
yesterday, i went hiking with my good friend javier at the torrey pines reserve. we left in the morning before the sun came out and hiked two trails. the area was full of people, runners, hikers, cyclists. the surroundings were really nice. to get to the trails we had to walk this steep incline hill. we hiked the guy fleming trail and the parry grove trail.
Guy Fleming Trail -2/3 mile loop
Easiest, relatively level, forested. nature markers. Diverse scenery, ocean vistas, sandstone formations. spring wildflowers, drinking water, parking. In winter you may see Gray Whales, and with luck, you may see bottlenose dolphins any time. More on the Guy Fleming Trail
Parry Grove Trail - 1/2 mile loop
Secluded, not too difficult but steep entry/exit (100 steps). Drought and Bark Beetle Infestation have devastated this grove, but it is recovering. Native plant garden at trailhead. More on Parry Grove
I noticed a few runners on the Guy Fleming Trail. Since this a very easy trail think it would be good for trail running. Torrey Pines is scenic and beautiful. Maybe next time i will go back and hike the other trails. :)
Guy Fleming Trail -2/3 mile loop
Easiest, relatively level, forested. nature markers. Diverse scenery, ocean vistas, sandstone formations. spring wildflowers, drinking water, parking. In winter you may see Gray Whales, and with luck, you may see bottlenose dolphins any time. More on the Guy Fleming Trail
Parry Grove Trail - 1/2 mile loop
Secluded, not too difficult but steep entry/exit (100 steps). Drought and Bark Beetle Infestation have devastated this grove, but it is recovering. Native plant garden at trailhead. More on Parry Grove
I noticed a few runners on the Guy Fleming Trail. Since this a very easy trail think it would be good for trail running. Torrey Pines is scenic and beautiful. Maybe next time i will go back and hike the other trails. :)
Posted by
the JoeL
comments (0)
Totals taken from my Nike+ account.
Nike Triax 11 - 45.23 miles
Nike Elite 4 - 28.89 miles.
Adidas Supernova Trail 5 - 9.5 miles
Nike Triax 11 - 45.23 miles
Nike Elite 4 - 28.89 miles.
Adidas Supernova Trail 5 - 9.5 miles
Posted by
the JoeL
comments (0)
i came across this interesting form of running called chi running. its a weird name but its supposedly helps out with your posture and will cause less fatigue and injury to your body. here is what they say on the chi running website
About ChiRunning®
ChiRunning combines the inner focus and flow of T'ai Chi with the power and energy of running to create a revolutionary running form and philosophy that takes the pounding, pain, and potential damage out of the sport of running. The ChiRunning program increases mental clarity and focus, enhances the joy of running, and turns running into a safe and effective lifelong program for health, fitness, and well-being.
here's a video that might clear things about chi running... i might try it out for a run and see if it works...
About ChiRunning®
ChiRunning combines the inner focus and flow of T'ai Chi with the power and energy of running to create a revolutionary running form and philosophy that takes the pounding, pain, and potential damage out of the sport of running. The ChiRunning program increases mental clarity and focus, enhances the joy of running, and turns running into a safe and effective lifelong program for health, fitness, and well-being.
here's a video that might clear things about chi running... i might try it out for a run and see if it works...
Posted by
the JoeL
comments (0)
today i completed a goal that i thought was unreachable. most of my runs range from 2 to 3 miles and my longer runs are 4 miles. today i went ahead and ran the longest distance so far. i went for a 5 mile run. i brought along my water bottle with my powerbar endurance drink to hydrate and refuel my muscles. usually with long distance runs i tend to get a dry throat which usually slows me down... so this time i decided to try something new. the powerbar endurance did a good job hydrating and provided an extra boost to go the distance. the only cumbersome part was carrying the water bottle in one hand. i didn't really mind though. its better to have it with me than having to go without water for the entire time.
i felt my pace was fairly good. i didn't really overexert myself. my breathing was good and posture was inline. there was some slouching but i corrected that almost immediately by straightening my back and focusing my attention toward the sky.
my overall time was 54 minutes and 16 seconds to run a 5.16 mile. my overall pace was 10 minutes and 30 seconds per mile. which i think is fairly good when you add in a few inclines here and there. i'm looking forward to running another 5 miles some time soon... maybe i can finally make it the big 10k distance (6.20 miles).
i felt my pace was fairly good. i didn't really overexert myself. my breathing was good and posture was inline. there was some slouching but i corrected that almost immediately by straightening my back and focusing my attention toward the sky.
my overall time was 54 minutes and 16 seconds to run a 5.16 mile. my overall pace was 10 minutes and 30 seconds per mile. which i think is fairly good when you add in a few inclines here and there. i'm looking forward to running another 5 miles some time soon... maybe i can finally make it the big 10k distance (6.20 miles).
Posted by
the JoeL
comments (0)
i was researching how to increasing my strength and found several cool articles regarding hill training. last friday i had the opportunity to give it a shot. we have a nice hill in the neighborhood. it's about a good 400 yards or so. i filled up my water bottle with water and went for it. i did a warm up run to the area where the hill was located... nothing to fast, i didn't want to tire myself out. i ran up the hill about 6 times in fast tempo speed but not sprint speed. i jogged downhill and took a few sips of my water... the jog down hill helped out by helping me catch my breath... overall, i felt really good with my performance. i didn't slow down. i look forward to seeing the results of this work out later on in my other runs. this seems like something i would do every other week.
here are some articles to some hill training tips
http://www.runnersworld.co.uk/news/article.asp?uan=159
http://www.marathonguide.com/training/coachmindy/hillrunning.cfm
http://www.runquick.com/corcorn/hills.html
here are some articles to some hill training tips
http://www.runnersworld.co.uk/news/article.asp?uan=159
http://www.marathonguide.com/training/coachmindy/hillrunning.cfm
http://www.runquick.com/corcorn/hills.html
Posted by
the JoeL
comments (0)
i went for a 3.5 mile yesterday in the dirt with my trail shoes. everything went well till some rocks sneaked. i didn't really feel them that much during the end of my run... but when i got home when i removed my shoes i noticed that i have imprint of a rock on my foot... OUCH!
Posted by
the JoeL
comments (0)
i went out running with my neighbor lawrence. he just signed up for the America's Finest 5k and started his training. i told him i would be down if he wanted to run. this morning we went out for a short 1 mile run around the neighborhood. our pace was nice and easy, about 11 min 14 second mile run pace. since he just started training i didn't want to run too fast. i had my heart rate monitor on me and i was on sport level 2 which is a nice warm up.... i noticed that i went up to 160 beats per minute. usually when i do my runs i can reach up to 185 beats per minute.
Posted by
the JoeL
comments (0)
when i got home from work i was trying to figure out where i can run. i suited up and went off to Imperial Beach to try out beach running. immediately when i stepped on the sand i knew this was going to be a challenge. the water was fairly close to the shore and i had to avoid the water when it came close. it was hard to get decent traction. i felt like i was exerting more energy but yet not moving too far. its like getting stuck in quicksand... you struggle to get out but the more you struggle the more you sink deeper and deeper. i felt my calves doing a lot of the work. this type of run is definitely not for beginners. one must build leg strength to run in this kind of surface. in the end, this was a pretty good work out.
Posted by
the JoeL
comments (0)
i just came back from my morning run. i was looking to run 3 miles in 30 mins but instead i ran 2.89 miles in 30 mins... i was close by .11 miles. here are some of the factors that might've slowed me down.
i found this really cool article about running in the heat that might be handy.
here's a brief summary:
to view the article in its entirety it can be found here.
- i ate an entire power bar 20 mins before my run. i thought by eating the power bar i'd get a little boost. next time ill just eat half if i need some energy for a run.
- the heat was tough. the sun beaming on my skin and face. i drank some water to keep me hydrated before the run. i also have to make sure i have sunscreen on too. i don't want to be toasted.
- in the middle of my run i picked up my water bottle to rehydrate myself because it was so hot. i think i drank too much water and felt kind of sluggish for about 3 or so mins.
i found this really cool article about running in the heat that might be handy.
here's a brief summary:
- stay hydrated
its always important to be hydrated when you run. the more you sweat the more you lose fluids. - choose clothing carefully
avoid dark colored clothes or tight fitting clothes. they will absorb heat. loose clothes are good. - don't push it
you should scale back your performance goals. you can't beat the heat - make a splash
splashing water over your head will help if your overheating. - be educated
if your not feeling to well or dizzy STOP immediately and rest.
to view the article in its entirety it can be found here.
Posted by
the JoeL
comments (0)
my friend Angela, Justin, and i decided a new route. i was browsing through the Nike Plus MapIt routes and came across a nice route in Chula Vista. it's about 3 or so miles but my Nike+ calculated it as three miles. the overall route was pretty flat with no hills... i had my share of hills riding my new bicycle today. having no inclines on this run helped out a lot and didn't tire me that much. overall, fun run and ill definitely be running this route more.
Posted by
the JoeL
comments (0)
today justin and i went for a run in the lower montgomery high school field around the softball / baseball fields. we ran twice around the lower field and ran 3x around the stadium which i assume is 400 meters. this was my first run with my new adidas supernova trail 5 shoes... and i must say im impressed. the shoes were really stable when i ran over some rocks and gravel. it has good padding around the shoe and felt great throughout the run. my feet didn't hurt at the end of the run. the gravel and sandy surface was easy on my legs and shins... and these shoes really did an awesome job! give them a try at your local running shoe store.
Posted by
the JoeL
comments (0)
Ever since i got my dad his pair of New Balance 992 running shoes for his birthday there has been a renewed interest in running around the gaspar household... since then i picked up three running shoes. my nike triax 11s, which are my everyday style running shoe... they provide me with enough stability on regular runs. my nike elite 4s are my light weight trainer. they are noticably lighter than my nike triax. i use them for longer runs or for fast tempo runs. and lastly my new adidas supernova 5 trail shoes that i picked up yesterday.
my family is following the positive influence and picking up there own running shoes... justin picked up kayano 14, mom has her saucony hurricane 7 classics, jarv selected the new balance 768, and sherilyn picked the new balance 858... now its time to hit the road and run :)
my family is following the positive influence and picking up there own running shoes... justin picked up kayano 14, mom has her saucony hurricane 7 classics, jarv selected the new balance 768, and sherilyn picked the new balance 858... now its time to hit the road and run :)
Posted by
the JoeL
comments (0)
I've been planning out my 5k runs that i'd like to do for the remainder of the year... My initial goal is to do at least 4 or 5 runs under my belt. I've already signed up for the America's Finest 5k on Sunday, August 17.
The others i would like to do are:
- 44th Balboa 4 Mile Cross Country - August 30, 2008
- Crimestoppers 5K run/walk: Light the Night against crime - October 25, 2008
- 2008 Shelter Island 5K Run / Walk - November 9, 2008
- Silver Strand Half Marathon & 5K - November 16, 2008
The others i would like to do are:
- 44th Balboa 4 Mile Cross Country - August 30, 2008
- Crimestoppers 5K run/walk: Light the Night against crime - October 25, 2008
- 2008 Shelter Island 5K Run / Walk - November 9, 2008
- Silver Strand Half Marathon & 5K - November 16, 2008
Posted by
the JoeL
comments (0)
today i ran 2 miles in the morning and another 3 miles in the evening. ive been nailing down 5k runs like nothing now... i think its time to increase the distance to 4 miles once a week... pace seems like its increasing on my faster runs. my fast pace seems pretty good, 9 mins and 20 seconds per mile pace. usually my first mile is a bit slow but once im fully warmed up i can go on. hills are a bit tricky, since i have to change my breathing pattern.
Posted by
the JoeL
comments (0)
i decided to go for a 5k run with my brother Justin and my friend Harold. We went on a nice steady pace and I didn't over exert myself. it was a nice run with the sunsetting. the total time was 31 mins.
Posted by
the JoeL
comments (0)
today was my return to running after my day off yesterday. i was debating whether i should run montgomery waller park or montgomery high school. i didn't want to overwork myself running up and down hills at the park so i decided to go to montgomery high school. the track is pretty much flat and didn't have any inclines at all. i choose to do a 5k a run to work on my speed. the first lap was my warm up and after that i decided to keep a faster tempo every other time. i felt really good though out the run and didn't feel any aches from my previous run. the days rest definitely helped me recover. i felt that my legs were used to the distance. overall, i clocked a 5k at 29 mins and 10 seconds which is a personal best :) in addition, i was able to clock in over 100 miles on nike+... seems like things are getting serious.
Posted by
the JoeL
comments (0)
today i decided to take a rest from my long run... i decided to go for a walk instead of running to stretch out my legs. sitting down for long periods of time can definitely put a toll on your body in a different way. the walk was great. i didn't walk to slow and went a steady pace. hopefully the next day ill be all good for a nice 2 miler. we'll see if i can heal by then.
Posted by
the JoeL
comments (0)
i ran my longest run so far...4.12 miles. Its unbelievable. I would've never thought i would be able to make a 4.12 mile run. Equipped with my Nike Elite 4+ shoes i was able to make it. I mapped out my route on Nike+ and went for it. the key for this run was not how fast i ran it but more of pacing myself to endure the distance. the only time i stopped was to wait for the stop lights to signal me to cross the street. my time for this run was 42 mins and 51 seconds. So about 10 mins per mile. im quite excited about this accomplishment... i cant wait to go out again for another long run :)
Posted by
the JoeL
comments (0)
well i logged in 33.76 miles for the month of june, which is pretty good. it's the most miles i've logged for a single month. i definitely want to top that mileage for july. ill set a goal of 40 miles for the month july... so if i can log 10 miles a week ill be set.
Posted by
the JoeL
comments (0)
well ive decided to focus a lot more on my fitness and ive stumbled upon running. running is a good way to lose weight and feel healthy. i can recall the times when i dreaded running a mile during PE in junior high and high school. it was more of a chore than for my health. but now that im older and more mature it's more of a necessity. a lot of people in our society are obese and unhealthy. i surely DO NOT want to be like. i think its important to at least exercise or engage in physical activity in a regular basis.
so far ive been running a lot for the past two months either on the treadmill at the gym or outside. i noticed that i slimmed down a bit. since i have the nike plus gadget for my ipod i can compare my mileage, pace, etc. this blog will be more of a journal of my runs and events i plan on attending.
2008 is a great year for being fit and healthy.
so far ive been running a lot for the past two months either on the treadmill at the gym or outside. i noticed that i slimmed down a bit. since i have the nike plus gadget for my ipod i can compare my mileage, pace, etc. this blog will be more of a journal of my runs and events i plan on attending.
2008 is a great year for being fit and healthy.